10 Comments

Low Maintenance Kale Chips

Kale chips are everywhere these days, and for good reason.  They are healthy and taste great.  They’re so good that it’s easy to forget you are eating a vegetable while you are inhaling eating them.  About a year ago, I tried making kale chips for the first time and loved them.  While the recipe was easy, it was time-consuming.  I had to wash all of the kale leaves, dry each one, and cut out the ribs from each leaf.  I’ll admit, it was a pain, and I really had no desire to do it again… that is, until I was at the store the other day.  I saw a giant bag of pre-washed kale, and I had the brilliant idea to try the kale chips again.  (Oddly, this is what an impulse buy looks like for me.)  This time I was sure it was going to be less maintenance, and I can now say I will make these again and again.  These are awesome, and if you struggle eating all of your veggies, it’s a great way to get them in.

Low Maintenance Kale ChipsKale Chips1

Difficulty: Easy

Ideal Protein: Phase 1, 2, 3, 4

Servings: 2

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups kale
  • olive oil spray
  • sea salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 275 degrees.
  2. Take kale from bag and place in a single layer on a baking sheet.
  3. Spray lightly with olive oil and add sea salt to taste.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes or until crisp but not charred.IMG_7480

Enjoy!

 If you’d like to receive more healthy recipes directly to your inbox, subscribe to Ideal Diet for free.  And if you try any recipes and find ways to make them better, please share your comments with us.

10 comments on “Low Maintenance Kale Chips

  1. Great Idea and I was already hungry…good thing these gems are healthy and low calorie

  2. Finally.. A recipe that healthily satisfies my lifelong battle with the ‘crisp’ 🙂

  3. Oh Lolabee, I live in the North East of England, which has one of the unhealthiest diets going (with the exception of Scotland) and where people eat pies, pastries, kebabs, stotties, burgers and chips (fries). I showed these crisps (chips) to my annoyingly slim hubby who lives on the aforementioned diet and thinks anything green is food of the devil, and his look of shock and bemusement will give me many hours of inward laughter, so thanks for that 🙂 have to say I’m a chubby salad eater so something’s gone wrong somewhere with us!
    Have not come across kale before, learning something new everyday!

    • I’m so amazed to hear about all the foods that we have here that aren’t easily accessible to you. We have a good friend who is a “Northener,” and he is not the healthiest of eaters. I actually wrote a post about him a long time ago. You might find it funny. http://lolabees.me/2010/12/07/microwaved-rice-in-the-uk/

      You’ll have to find some kale and laugh while your husband inhales them because they taste so good. They are really light and airy, and not at all as sturdy as a crisp, but they taste great! We’ll be heading over for another visit to your island later in the year. We love it there.

  4. Dave was just saying today that he wanted to try making kale chips and — voila! — here is a recipe he can whip out in no time at all. Great timing. Thanks.

  5. How long do these stay good for? Do you have to eat them right away or will they
    stay good for a few days? Thanks for the recipe! I’m Just starting the ideal protein diet and am happy to find such great recipes!

    • Hi Kathy,
      I’ve never had to think about that question because I always inhale them, and there are never any left! I would think they would last for a few days, but they might not sty crispy. You could try leaving them out or in a sealed package. If you try it, let me know how it works!

Leave a Reply

