5 Comments

Zucchini Pasta Primavera

What’s your biggest carb craving?

Hands down, my favorite carb is pasta.  And I guess potatoes… and bread too.  Oh geez, I know I’m not alone when I admit I love them all.  But I better focus here.

Back to the pasta thing… this is why I’m a huge fan of the Miracle Noodle.  There are also some other fun and unique options you can make right at home.  For years I’ve heard about using zucchini to make noodles.  The idea never appealed to me because I find that zucchini can be bitter, and I just don’t love its flavor.  When I started writing this blog to share Ideal Protein recipes with my clients (and anyone else looking for healthy options,) I became more motivated to experiment with new ideas– especially when it came to finding creative noodle substitutes.

I’m so glad I did.

Here are a few helpful tips for making a great tasting zucchini noodle.  A mandolin is probably a wonderful kitchen tool, but a potato peeler works perfectly.  “Peel” the zucchini lengthwise to make pappardelle shaped noodles.  The other cool tip is to “cure” the zucchini first with salt.  This removes the bitterness from the zucchini (as well as eggplant when cooking that.)

This recipe is so easy and versatile, you can mix and match ingredients as you please.  It’s a great way to get your veggies while also getting a “pasta” fix.  Other than using zucchini in a sweet zucchini bread (there go those carbs again,) this is my second favorite way to eat it.

Zucchini Pasta Primavera

Difficulty: Easy

Ideal Protein: Phases 1, 2, 3, and 4

Servings: 4

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 zucchinis (or 4 cups of thin zucchini strips)
  • 4 cups of sliced red peppers, sliced mushrooms, and spinach.
  • 4 teaspoons basil pesto grapeseed oil (this adds a touch of WOW!)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • salt and black pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Cut zucchini into thin, noodle-like strips using a mandolin or potato peeler. Toss with 1 teaspoon salt, and place in a colander to drain for 30 minutes.
  2. Bring a pot of water to boil. Add zucchini and cook for one minute. Drain and rinse immediately with cold water to stop cooking.
  3. Heat basil pesto grapeseed oil in a large skillet over medium high heat.  Add peppers and mushrooms and saute for 5 minutes.  Add zucchini and garlic followed by spinach; cook and stir until just tender, about 5 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  4. Add your favorite protein.

Adapted from this recipe.

Enjoy!

 If you’d like to receive more healthy recipes directly to your inbox, feel free to subscribe to my blog.  And if you try any recipes and find ways to make them better, please share your tips here.  The more the merrier!

5 comments on “Zucchini Pasta Primavera

  1. You should definitely try spagehetti squash. It is so good. My sister-in-law in Grand Junction is into gardening, thus grew and cooked it for us. This is squash season so I think you’ll be able to find it. Texture is surprisingly similar to pasta and you use same sauces. I’ll never give up bread…I had to give up dairy and have learned to live with that. BUT OMG, don’t touch my bread….lol.

    • I have one sitting on my kitchen counter ready to go! I love spaghetti squash and actually think it is better than this zucchini option. The only prob is that you can’t eat it on some of the phases of our diet. Anyway, giving up dairy is hard enough… if you don’t have to give up bread, then you’d have to be crazy to do it! 😉

  2. Yummy… It looks so good that I will try it! 😀

  3. Cau you give the recipe for basil pesto grape seed oil.

Leave a Reply

