3 Comments

Chorizo-ish Hash Tacos

If you know me well, there’s one thing you know about me:

I love tacos.

But I don’t love to cook tacos at home because I find them to be BOR-ING! That is until I found a taco recipe that has since become a staple in my house.  Trust me, these are special.   And there is always enough for leftovers.  If you really want to have fun, top the leftovers with a fried egg for breakfast the next day.  These tacos have something in common with my Shrimp Tikka recipe– you won’t want to share this either. You will do everything in your power to make sure you have lefties the next day.  Make the meal healthier by adding a bit of sautéed spinach or any other veggies you have around.

Chorizo Hash Tacos

Difficulty: Easy

Ideal Protein Recipe: Phase 4

Servings: makes 12 tacos

Ingredients:
  • 2 pounds Yukon Gold potatoes, quartered for faster cooking
  • 1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef or buffalo
  • 1 tablespoon sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon sweet paprika
  • 2 tablespoons chopped chipotles in adobo
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons grapeseed oil
  • corn tortillas, warmed
  • Optional/Get Creative: Tomato salsa, chopped white onion, cilantro and lime wedges, and veggies of your choice, for serving

Directions:

  1. In a large saucepan, cover the potatoes with 4 inches of cold water and bring to a boil. Simmer over low heat for about 30 minutes, until tender. Drain and let cool slightly. Coarsely mash them in the saucepan.
  2. In a large bowl, knead the beef with the salt, garlic, paprika, chipotles, coriander, oregano and vinegar. Gently knead in the potatoes, leaving some chunks of potato.
  3. In 2 large skillets (or 1 skillet and save the rest to cook tomorrow,) preferably cast-iron or nonstick, heat the oil until shimmering. Add the chorizo-potato mixture to the skillets and press into an even layer. Cook over moderately high heat undisturbed until a crust forms on the bottom, about 5 minutes. Turn the mixture in sections and cook until browned and crusty on the bottom, about 5 minutes longer.
  4. Assemble tacos.

Adapted from this recipe.

Enjoy!

 If you’d like to receive more healthy recipes directly to your inbox, feel free to subscribe to my blog.  And if you try any recipes and find ways to make them better, please share your tips here.  The more the merrier!

3 comments on “Chorizo-ish Hash Tacos

  1. This looks really good and a nice change. I too get bored with the basic taco. Nice photo. I can’t seem to photograph food AND make it look edible….lol.

    • These are great and a bit different. Thanks. I hated the way my food pics came out with my old camera, so I finally got a DSLR. I still don’t know how to use it, but the photos are better than they used to be. I noticed you got 2 new cameras! How fun.

  2. […] Chorizo-ish Hash Tacos (idealdiet.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

