Leave a comment

Grilled Stuffed Mushrooms

Sometimes I’m a bit of an impulse buyer. 

It’s very rare, but occasionally I can’t help myself.  This last time… it was mushrooms.  I know, you thought I was going to mention that great pair of shoes.  But not me.  For me, it was mushrooms.  These big plump stuffing mushrooms looked so good, I had to have them.  I had no plan of what to do with them, but I was sure I would find a way.  They reminded me of the days when my mom would make her decadent stuffed mushrooms for parties, and I felt the need to taste that delicious memory once again.  The only problem: her stuffed mushrooms were filled with butter, Parmesan, and breadcrumbs, something that I wasn’t going to tempt myself with.  So I was on a mission to find a recipe I could work with.  Not only that, but could I grill them?  The only stuffed mushrooms I ever ate were baked in the oven.  With the 105 degree heat and a recent discovery that I have no air conditioning in my house (that’s another story,) I was not sticking anything in that oven.  After a quick search, I immediately came across this really cool resource that pretty much breaks down the art of a stuffed mushroom.

Using the basics and some random stuff I had in my house, here is what I came up with.  I suggest you do the same.  Go for it.  Get creative.

Grilled Stuffed Mushrooms

Difficulty: Easy

Servings: 2-4

Ideal Protein: Phases 1, 2, 3, and 4

Ingredients:

  • 8 large stuffing mushrooms, cleaned and stems removed and chopped for stuffing
  • meat: Phase 4– I used 1 Applegate Farms Chicken and Apple Sausage.  Phases 1-3– use 1 chicken sausage with no added fruit or sugar
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  • fresh basil, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil.  Phase 4– use 1 tablespoon of hummus instead of oil.  (Most recipes use a binder such as butter, mayonnaise, or cheese to hold the stuffing together.  In Phase 1-3, use olive oil or a Walden Farms product, but in Phase 4 hummus is a much healthier and equally tasty alternative to those other binders.)

Directions:

  1. Brown sausage in a skillet in 1 tsp of olive oil.  Let cool.
  2. Remove mushrooms stems.  Clean and chop.
  3. Mix chopped mushrooms, meat, basil, salt and pepper, and olive oil (or hummus for Phase 4) in a bowl.
  4. Stuff mushrooms.
  5. Preheat grill to medium.
  6. Spray grill pan with olive oil and grill mushrooms on grill pan for 15-20 minutes.

Enjoy!

 If you’d like to receive more healthy recipes directly to your inbox, feel free to subscribe to my blog.  And if you try any recipes and find ways to make them better, please share your tips here.  The more the merrier!

Leave a Reply

