11 Comments

You-Won’t-Want-to-Share Shrimp Tikka

What exactly is a tikka?

I’ve consistently made this dish for a few years now, and it wasn’t until today that I asked myself that very question.  In Finnish it means woodpeckerGoogle dictionary tells me it is “an Indian dish of small pieces of meat or vegetables marinated in a spice mixture.”  I think I’ll go with definition #2, but really, if it’s healthy and tastes this great, I don’t care what it’s called or what it means.  It sort of reminds me of the classic dinner scene in the Sixteen Candles when they’re eating quiche and Long Duck Dong asks, “how do you spell it?”  Grandpa Fred so cleverly replies, “you don’t spell it son, you eat it!”  My thoughts exactly!

This marinade is packed with dynamic flavors and almost provides a barely there crispy texture to the outside of the shrimp.  (I won’t go so far as to say it’s a crispy coating.)  Try this Shrimp Tikka, and it will be a real crowd-pleaser… that is, if you want to share.

Shrimp Tikka

Difficulty: Easy

Servings: 4-6

Ideal Protein: Phases 1, 2, 3, and 4

Ingredients:

  •  1/4 cup grapeseed oil  **(or 1/8 cup + 2 teaspoons if you’re in IP Phases 1, 2, or 3)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 fresh jalapeño, seeds removed and chopped (keep seeds for more heat)
  • 1 (1-inch) piece peeled ginger, chopped
  • 2 large garlic clove, smashed
  • 2 teaspoons ground garam masala
  • 3/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/8 teaspoon grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt
  • 2 pounds large shrimp, peeled and tail removed
  • Wooden or metal skewers for grilling
Directions:
  1. Purée all ingredients, except shrimp, in a blender until smooth.
  2. Pour into a sealable bag, then add shrimp and marinate at cool room temperature, turning bag occasionally, 30 minutes.
  3. Preheat grill to medium-high heat.
  4. Thread 4 shrimp onto each skewer, leaving small spaces between them. Put on a tray.
  5. Lightly oil grill rack, then grill skewers, covered, turning once, until just cooked through, 4 to 6 minutes total.
Adapted from this recipe which also has a delicious mango chutney to go with it.  This mango chutney would be a great addition on Phase 4.  I never make it because I love the shrimp so much that the chutney is just a distraction for me.

Enjoy!

 If you’d like to receive more healthy recipes directly to your inbox, feel free to subscribe to my blog.  And if you try any recipes and find ways to make them better, please share your tips here.  The more the merrier!

11 comments on “You-Won’t-Want-to-Share Shrimp Tikka

  1. Hubby and I love shrimp. Can’t wait to try this recipe.

  2. Oh my gosh…this looks so good!! Must make this! I feel like I always do the same thing with shrimp so I am way excited to have something new to do!

    • Seriously, I can tell from your blog that you are a great talent in the kitchen, but if you ever make a recipe of mine, you must make this one. It’s total perfection!

  3. I live in italy, so I always cook shrimp.
    I learned to appreciate them. 😀

  4. […] with a fried egg for breakfast the next day.  These tacos have something in common with my Shrimp Tikka recipe– you won’t want to share this either. You will do everything in your power to […]

  5. Thank you for the recipe. One correction, Long Duck Dong was in 16 Candles. One of my favorites so….

    • That’s hilarious! I must have had shrimp on the brain. Thanks for pointing that out, Jody. I guess it’s good to see someone actually reads this stuff. 😉

Leave a Reply

