6 Comments

Not Yo Grandma’s Meatballs

These Vietnamese meatballs are a favorite in our house.  I always make a double batch because I crave more the next day!

Vietnamese Meatballs

Difficulty: Easy

Servings: 4-6

Ideal Protein:  Phases 1, 2, 3, and 4  (Optional Phase 4 variations listed at the end of the recipe.)

  • 2 pounds lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh basil
  • 8 garlic cloves, minced
  • 6 green onions, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons fish sauce*
  • 2 tablespoons Tapatio hot sauce**
  • 1/2 tablespoon Stevia
  • 2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 2  7-oz bags of Miracle Noodle Fettuccine
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Gently mix all ingredients in large bowl. Using moistened hands, roll meat mixture into 1-inch meatballs. Arrange on baking sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes.
Serve with steamed snow peas, bok choy, broccoli, or the vegetables of your choice along with 3 oz of Miracle Noodles.  These meatballs are packed with flavor on their own.  Add soy sauce, hot sauce, or hot mustard to noodles and veggies if desired.

*Be careful with fish sauce because some brands have added sugar.  If you are going to use fish sauce in Phases 1-3 only use fish sauce with 0 g of sugar and carbs.  If you can’t find it at your store, substitute 4 teaspoons of soy sauce and 2 teaspoons of lime juice for the 2 tablespoons of fish sauce.  Any fish sauce is okay in Phase 4.

** In Phase 4, it’s okay to use Sriracha sauce instead of Tapatio.  I’ve made these meatballs with both variations, and the results are similar.
       
Adapted from this recipe.
 
Enjoy!
If you’d like to receive more healthy recipes directly to your inbox, feel free to subscribe to my blog.  And if you try any recipes and find ways to make them better, please share your tips here.  The more the merrier!
6 comments on “Not Yo Grandma’s Meatballs

  1. […] Not Yo Grandma’s Meatballs (idealdiet.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] alright, I know.  Another Vietnamese recipe.  I can’t help it.  The ingredients in these recipes create some wonderful flavors.  This […]

  3. You seem to use the Miracle Rice and Noodles a lot in your recipes but I ordered the noodles a few years ago and they smelled so bad, like dirty feet, that I threw them away. Do they still have that bad smell? They are expensive so I would hate to buy them again unless they have found a way to remove the bad smell.

    • They still smell when you first open the package. I don’t like the smell either, but once you rinse them off really well in a colander, I find that the smell goes away. If you don’t think you can get past that, I’d just make the meatballs without the noodles.

      • Thanks for your answer, I’ll give it another try. Would you mind telling me how much you lost on the Ideal program and how long it took you?

    • BTW, you might be able to find them now in the grocery store, so you can only buy 1 to try it. I don’t know where you live, but I’d look on their website to see where to find them.

      To answer your question, I am a coach and do the program every year. I lose about 5-7 pounds each year, depending on what I want to do. The idea is that if I gain 5 pounds each year, I lose it before the years go by and 5 pounds turns to 10 to 15 to 20. If I do it for 1-2 weeks a year, it resets my body, and it’s easier to maintain the weight each year.

Leave a Reply

