3 Comments

Grilled Halibut with Veggie Pico

When I saw a beautiful fillet of wild halibut at the store the other day, I found myself drawn to it.  It’s that time of year again.  Fish is one of those foods that I tend to eat mostly during the summer for two reasons: some really nice wild fish becomes available, and I can’t stand to cook it inside my house.  I’ve tried baking, broiling, or sauteing it several times over the years, and while it sometimes works out fine, there’s always the one time that the fish is too fishy.  That fishy smell that lingers for days in the kitchen sends me into a fish-cooking hiatus that at times can last up to several years.

I’ve finally learned my lesson.

Now I only cook fish outside on the grill, and I have yet to experience that yucky smell that turns me away from fish. This was my first time cooking halibut, and it is the perfect fish for grilling.  It was light and flaky, delicious on its own.  And the fresh veggie salsa made for a fun and colorful addition.  The salsa reminded me of a pico de gallo, consisting mainly of chopped cucumbers, tomatoes, and red peppers.  I had some leftover pico that I put on my salad the next day, and it was even better after sitting in the lime juice and vinegar over night.

Grilled Halibut with Veggie Pico

Difficulty: Easy

Servings: 2

Ideal Protein: Phases 1, 2, 3, and 4

  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, diced and seeds removed
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1 green onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro leaves
  • 3 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon Stevia
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 10 ounces halibut fillet
  • Sea salt and black pepper
  • Olive oil

Directions

For the pico: Combine all the vegetables in a bowl.  Mix rice wine vinegar, Stevia, and lime juice together until well blended.  Add all chopped vegetables and cilantro to the mixture.  Mix well, and add sea salt to taste.

For the halibut: Season with sea salt and pepper.  Preheat grill.  Oil grill surface well with olive oil or use grill pan or fish basket for grilling.  Grill fish for 3-6 minutes per side or until cooked through.  Fish will be flaky and opaque white when cooked through.

Assembly: Spoon a nice mound of pico in the center of each plate, adding a bit of the salsa juice.  Place the halibut fillet on top.

Adapted from this recipe.

Enjoy!

If you’d like to receive more healthy recipes directly to your inbox, feel free to subscribe to my blog.  And if you try any recipes and find ways to make them better, please share your tips here.  The more the merrier!

3 comments on “Grilled Halibut with Veggie Pico

  1. Can you just come to my house and cook for me! I’ve been eating only veggies and a little dairy and beans. Lost 8 pounds! Keep up the great work. 🙂 Sam

    • I’ll be there soon 😉 Wouldn’t it be nice if we could have someone around all the time to do this stuff for us! Some days I wish I could have someone cook for me too!

  2. […] and vibrant than the other salmon in the case, but to me it also tastes better.  Since I have my rule about not cooking fish inside the house, I’m lucky that summer is the prime time to get this […]

Leave a Reply

