9 Comments

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Doesn’t it get boring eating the same thing over and over?

I eat broccoli most of the time because I like it and it’s easy, but sometimes I just want something different.  I am a creature of habit, and I can eat the same things over and over and stay satisfied.  But even I get bored.  Several times in the last few months I’ve paused while passing by the Brussels Sprouts at the grocery store, thinking maybe I should dare to try them.  I never liked them much, but in the last few years my mother-in-law has made them quite often.  When she makes them, they are always good, and each time, I seem to like them more.  They have definitely started growing on me.  I’ve also noticed them popping up on the restaurant scene over the past few years.  Since I like to be cool and keep up with the hip restaurant scene, I decided to go for it this time.  The hubs was out of town, so if they didn’t turn out right, I didn’t have to make anyone suffer through it with me.

I bought this bag because they looked so good and fresh.

But really, would anyone ever actually microwave these things?

Not me.  I’m guessing there’s a reason they are often times paired with bacon in restaurants.  Clearly I need to disguise the Brussels Sprout flavor a little bit, right?  It’s like eating fish.  We don’t want our fish to taste fishy, and we don’t want our Brussels Sprouts to taste Brussels Sprouty either… I think?

This is how they started out…

And this is the finished product. I’ll just say… yummy, yummy, yummy!

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Difficulty: Easy

Yield: 4-5 servings

Ideal Protein Phase: 1,2,3 and 4

  • 1 1/2 pounds Brussels sprouts (8-10 cups measured raw)
  • 2 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon sea salt (use 1/2 teaspoon if you prefer less salted)
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Cut off the brown ends of the Brussels sprouts and pull off any yellow outer leaves.  Cut in half lengthwise.  Mix them in a bowl with the olive oil, salt and pepper. Pour them on a sheet pan and roast for 25 to 35 minutes, until crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. Shake the pan from time to time to brown the sprouts evenly. Sprinkle with more sea salt if desired, and serve immediately.

Adapted from this recipe.

Enjoy!

9 comments on “Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. Oh wow. These look good! My go to health foods are asparagus or broccoli. But this… this seems well worth a shot. 🙂

    I’ve been kind of watching what I eat. Something about traveling a lot, getting older, feeling older… you know. Suddenly being healthy has a place that it simply never had before.

    Great blog you have here. Really good ideas.

    • I bet you’ll like this. It feels good to be healthy, and it’s funny how we start to recognize that as we get older.

      Thanks! I am not much of a cook, so I try to keep it simple. I figure if I can do it, anyone can!

  2. Another veggie I have yet to try…I think I’d be more tempted by the bacon 🙂

  3. So good to know that you like your Mother-in-Law’s cooking! Roasted cauliflower is another winner.

Leave a Reply

