4 Comments

HAPPINESS: You Look Fat and Good

This blog post caught my attention with a great story at the beginning about the differing cultural perceptions we have about weight. It definitely gives you something to think about… and a good chuckle too! Gethappy shares his thoughts on staying healthy, and he has some really lovely things to say.

While many of us want to be thin to look a certain way, it’s ultimately about our health and our happiness.

What do you think?  Do you agree with what he has to say?

The Happiness nest

By Aliker David Martin

If you have health, you probably will be happy, and if you have health and happiness, you have all the wealth you need, even if it is not all you want.  ~Elbert Hubbard

I have never been concerned about my diet until I came to America. To look fat is never a bad thing in Africa, instead being fat is associated with being happy and healthy. The poor, sick and unhappy are associated with being skinny. One day, as I complemented my American boss who had just returned from a holiday in America; I told her, “you look fat and good; you must have enjoyed your holiday!” All the Americans laughed as all my African colleagues nodded in recognition. My boss was deeply hurt and that’s when I learnt of the stigma of obesity in America. So how can one be fat and…

View original post 280 more words

4 comments on “HAPPINESS: You Look Fat and Good

  1. ““you look fat and good; you must have enjoyed your holiday!”

    OMG – can you imagine saying that to your boss! Thanks for sharing this 🙂

  2. I like what he has to say. I think that perhaps many take it a step further than just associating skinny with attractive. We go so far as to proclaim a particular body type as the most desirable and thus the ultimate goal to reach while getting back in shape. There are different body types; a lot of advertising for health and fitness products seem to give off a false hope that one particular body type is achievable by all. When the truth is that a healthy body might be achievable by many, but once a healthy balance is reached, you’ll still be stuck with whatever body type yer momma gave ya.

    • I totally agree. When we set ourselves up for such unrealistic expectations, I think it can be so crushing. I loved this post because to me it is about the health, and the happiness, and the love, and thinking of your body as your temple and treating it with the utmost respect– regardless of how close to “perfection” it is.

Leave a Reply

